top of page
  • Elizabeth Berry

A Different Kind of Song


It’s not too often to hear a song that isn’t about a breakup or a love gone wrong on the radio. When I first heard “Stressed Out,” by Twenty One Pilots, I was immediately turned off by the misconception that it was just another pop song gone wrong. However, the second time I heard it, I began to actually listen to the lyrics more closely. I now take back what I said about hating the song, and listen to it whenever it comes on the radio. In fact, I hummed it to myself while I wrote this article! I think my obsession with this almost four minute song is because I relate so strongly to everything that it’s commenting on.

The first verse is somewhat of a complaint made by the lead singer, Tyler Joseph, that I interpret as a wishful thought of being more than just a rapper as he states, “I wish I didn’t have to rhyme every time I sang.” The second verse is where the lyrics become much more thought provoking and completely takes hold of me.

Joseph sings, “I was told when I get older all my fears would shrink / But now I’m insecure and I care what people think.” These lyrics remind me of the promise of better things in the future, especially with college coming closer and closer, as well as, the underlying insecurity and low self-esteem that plagues so many of us. The chorus begins with the now famous line “Wish we could turn back time, to the good ol’ days” sung by Joseph, and anyone else in the car. This line resonates with me, and any other high school student, who daydreams about the simpler times of childhood “when nothing really mattered.”

The lyrics continue to amp up until the ending when Joseph sings “We would build a rocket ship and then we’d fly it far away, / Used of outer space but now they’re laughing at our face, / Saying, wake up you need to make money.” These lines, in particular, always make me think of the American Dream that everyone seems to be trying to achieve even though we are told constantly that it’s most likely impossible.

Although this song is somewhat sad, similarly to breakup songs, it somehow ironically has the ability to relieve stress.

I remember driving back home from school after taking a particular difficult Chemistry test and “Stressed Out” came on the radio. I turned up the volume to twenty-four and began to belt out the lyrics while laughing at myself, feeling like a kid again. When the song ended, I no longer felt stressed about the test, or school, or my future; in the moment I felt free from all my worries. “Stressed Out” is unique because of it’s remarkable lyrics, and ability to give you some sanity and perspective, which is what great music is all about.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Questions with Mr. Murray, the new VP

Mr. Murray is new to the Reading community and we decided to sit down with him one afternoon and pick his mind on what he thinks about his transition to Reading and his prior jobs. Who is Mr. Murray?

bottom of page