top of page
  • Elizabeth Berry

The True Meaning of Success


The poem “Success is counted sweetest” was written by Emily Dickinson. In Dickinson’s poem, she explains her perspective on success. Dickinson claims that success is not always followed by a victory.

Success is counted sweetest

By those who ne'er succeed.

To comprehend a nectar

Requires sorest need.

Not one of all the purple Host

Who took the Flag today

Can tell the definition

So clear of victory

As he defeated – dying –

On whose forbidden ear

The distant strains of triumph

Burst agonized and clear!

Above is Emily Dickinson’s poem, “Success is counted sweetest.”

Sometimes the effort and “sorest” want of success is all one needs to experience success. Even though one may be “defeated”, success and “The distant strains of triumph” can still be heard. There is often the misconception that one must have perfect grades and be the best at their designated sport or activity; however, as a junior, my definition of success has evolved from this restrictive definition. I agree with Dickinson, for the effort and passion one has translates into success, even though this is not always seen as a measurement of merit in the academic community.

Grades often define the level of success a student has achieved. A student who maintains high grades is deemed successful, whereas a student with low grades is deemed a failure; a single letter grade determines who is successful and who is not. More often than not, this grade does not reflect the rigor a student has applied to their work. This results in an interesting question; is a student who receives an A on a test they did not study for a more successful student than a student who studied for hours, and did not receive as high of a grade? I asked this very question to several of my teachers. Mr. Fiore, a history teacher and football coach at RMHS, responded to this questions by offering his definition of success. Fiore stated that “ Success is based on progress...a student that studied a lot but didn’t get a good grade, but retains the information for a long time or grows...that is successful.” However, this honorable definition of success is not always observed in school; Fiore stated that “the definitions [of success] that exist on grades and GPA” can often restrict the success of the student who did not receive as high of a grade. I posed this same question to Mr. Mooney, a math teacher at RMHS. He replied by saying that “In the sense of learning... the [student who received a high grade, but did not study] already knew the [information]...and [therefore] didn’t really learn anything..in that sense they are not being successful.” Mooney then went on to explain that he does not think “A grade determines success in [a] class.” He stated that, “truly, if...it's something that challenges you, that makes you uncomfortable, and you’re willing to still attempt it, that is more [successful]. He then went on to state a similar opinion to Mr. Fiore in that “Usually..[the] kid who does all the work, struggles… and tries to put themselves out there to the most of their ability, has achieved more and has more success in that sense.” Mooney then went on to state that he “Think[s] one of the problems with society is grades and results..that is what we determine [as] success, which really isn't, at all.” When I asked Mrs. Williams, an English teacher at RMHS, this question, she responded by claiming that, “I think that a student who gets an A without studying certainly has a talent or maybe a natural ability [for] that subject matter, but it doesn’t necessarily mean that they’ve grown or learned anything, whereas a student who may not get an A, but worked hard and really studied, but received a grade lesser than that, may not have [received] the grade they wanted, but perhaps learned or grew in the process of just studying alone. To me I think that is valuable and maybe more important.” Williams’s statement coincided with Dickinson’s perspective; trying to achieve a goal is more successful than actually attaining the goal. I then asked French teacher, Mrs. McSorley, who stated that “[I think] both students would be equally successful because I think [that] the student who didn’t study [is] able to [with] their own knowledge and skill put together a success...and a student who did study...gains the experience of having to work hard for something that may not come easy to them.” All of the responses that my teachers provided made me realize that success in school does not have to be solely measured with a high grade or GPA; however, I feel like there is often a disconnect with this perspective in the academic community at large.

A letter grade should able to account for the effort, rigor, and passion a student puts towards a class; for these are the traits that I lead to true success. However, the typical academic definition of success of attaining high grades has been put into students minds since a young age. Kayleigh Anderson, a junior at RMHS, stated, “We have had it in our minds since kindergarten to feel good when we get good grades.” The sense of accomplishment and success is almost always followed by receiving a high grade. Jennifer Luo, also a junior at RMHS stated that “For me personally, I feel better when I get a good grade on a test [or] project because it sort of shows how I put time into it. I feel like good grades and effort go hand in hand because good grades are a "reward" for your effort.”

Receiving a good grade when you work hard on an assignment is gratifying, but what the disappointment insecurity one feels when they do not receive a good grade on an assignment is difficult to cope with. Makena Gera, another junior at RMHS, said the following on this topic, “I feel accomplished with myself knowing I worked hard and earned a good grade, but if I get a bad grade when I know I worked and studied my hardest, I feel disappointed with myself. But, I wish that just knowing I worked hard could be enough, but I'm so focused on getting good grades.” Working hard isn’t always acknowledged when a student’s school record only includes mostly raw grades. If grades could reflect effort, as well, then it could potentially show a student’s intelligence and love of learning. Kayleigh, Jennifer, and Makena all agreed that success should be defined as one’s ability to challenge himself or herself and improve.

Throughout my years in school to date, I have felt successful when I received a good grade. But, as a junior, I tend to feel successful when I know that I have tried my hardest. This perspective of success acts as a way to cope with not receiving high grades all the time; it's not an excuse, but a reminder that one’s enthusiasm matters, too. It is hard to measure true success in the academic world, but I feel students should try to remember that the highest grades do not automatically translate into success in life; sometimes having drive and displaying effort is the key to unlock a successful future.


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Questions with Mr. Murray, the new VP

Mr. Murray is new to the Reading community and we decided to sit down with him one afternoon and pick his mind on what he thinks about his transition to Reading and his prior jobs. Who is Mr. Murray?

bottom of page